Wage theft is pervasive in California and a recent case demonstrates that dedicated attorneys can help ensure assisted living caregivers get the wages they deserve.
Investigators in this case discovered that assisted living caregivers at the Common Destiny Care Home in Fremont, Calif. were required to work more than 8 hours a day, sometimes up to 17 hours, without receiving pay according to state mandated overtime or minimum wage regulations. On average, workers were paid between $60 and $80 a day, or about $5.00/hour.
Employers also told them to report for duty the night before their shifts began. They did not receive pay for those hours, instead required to perform unpaid work during designated sleeping hours. Their sleeping quarters were a sofa bed in an unheated garage.
The owners of the care home received fines of over $358,700 for numerous violations of state wage laws, including unpaid overtime and minimum wage underpayment. All wages recovered under actions such as this by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement go directly to affected employees.
Those in a similar situation should not hesitate to contact a knowledgeable business attorney to find out how to recover owed wages and what employees are entitled to by law in the State of California.
For the most up-to-date information on California labor laws, visit:
In addition, for any complaints or questions phone the California Workers’ Information Hotline at (866) 924-9757.